Carolina Classics 2010 June 11

Spoleto Chamber Music Concert VII: This concert from the 2010 Chamber Music Series at the Dock Street Theatre features a souvenir of the Secret Life of Franz Joseph Haydn, whom Director of Chamber Music Geoff Nuttall suggests was a rock star – with the lifestyle that suggests – during his years in London. We’ll also hear composer-in-residence Jonathan Berger introduce his re-created Brahms, from old Edison piano rolls, and the Spoleto debut of pianist Inon Barnatan, the 2009 Avery Fisher Prize winner.


Geoff Nuttall: Opening remarks
What REALLY motivated Haydn to write this rollicking piano trio in London?

Read the full article on the "Band of Gypsies" on NPR's website

pedja muzijevicHaydn: Piano Trio No. 39 in G
Violinist Scott St. Johnn, cellist Christopher Costanza, and pianist Pedja Muzijjevic play what’s arguably Haydn’s most famous piano trio, with it’s “Rondo A l’Ungarese” finale.

FRANZ JOSEPH HAYDN: Piano Trio No. 39 in G major, Hob. 25
Scott St. John, violin
Christopher Costanza, cello
Pedja Muzijevic, piano

Geoff Nuttall & Jonathan Berger introduce Brahms

jon bergerBrahms:
Jonathan Berger “Plays” Brahms’s Hungarian Dance No. 1, as laid down by Brahms himself on an Edison cylinder and magically recreated by Berger and his students at Stanford into a piano four-hand arrangement.

JOHANNES BRAHMS: Hungarian Dance No. 1 in G minor
Jonathan Berger, piano

Geoff Nuttal introduces the Brahms Piano Quartet

inon barnatanBrahms Con Brio
Next, some Brahms made brand-new: Pianist Inon Barnatan anchors a rollicking performance of the Piano Quartet No. 1 in G minor, Op. 25, by Brahms, joining Livia Sohn, violin; Barry Shiffman, viola; and Alisa Weilerstein, cello. (Inon Barnatan is a featured guest on today’s Spoleto Today)

JOHANNES BRAHMS: Piano Quartet No. 1 in G minor, Op. 25
Livia Sohn, violin
Barry Shiffman, viola
Alisa Weilerstein, cello
Inon Barnatan, piano

Dvorak’s Seventh
Moving up I-26, Music Director Morihiko Nakahara leads the South Carolina Philharmonic in a Koger Center concert performance of Dvorak’s Symphony No. 7 in D Minor, Op. 70.

ANTONIN DVORAK: Symphony No. 7 in D minor, Op. 70
Morihiko Nakahara, conductor, South Carolina Philharmonic Orchestra

Farewell, Philemon!
We bid farewell to our Spoleto residency with an exit worthy of the Gods - quarter-sized Gods, that is! From Haydn’s charming puppet opera “Philemon & Baucis,” one of the hits of the 2010 Spoleto Festival, we’ll hear the closing chorus “Triumph of the God of all Gods.”

FRANZ JOSEPH HAYDN: Philemon & Baucis